I am so sick and tired of my clothes…

This is a stock photo, not actually my closet

This is a stock photo, not actually my closet

 

 

 

Have you ever been sick of your wardrobe?

 

Nothing fits right, things are too lose, too tight, or have lost their shape!

 

Currently, I’m in the middle of this closet battle.  Last May, I spent about $300 on clothes and shoes to last me until June 1, 2009.  Since then I haven’t purchased much except $120 on four pairs of shoes, $100 on make up, and $10 on hair accessories (to bide my time between SuperCuts).

 

It seems like such a small issue, and I often wonder if men ever have the same problem.  I’ve worked mostly with men since obtaining my BA, and they typically have fewer clothes than the women I know and they rotate their clothes in a predictable fashion (i.e. “this is my Monday shirt” or “I didn’t do laundry so I have to wear my Friday pants on Wednesday”).

 

The times when I’ve felt the best about my wardrobe are also the same times when I’ve been living really healthy with exercise and appropriate eating habits.  While my weight tends not to fluctuate more than +/- 10 lbs, I notice a different between tone muscles and atrophied muscles in the fit of my clothes.  Even if my clothes felt looser, having muscles and a nice woven belt to cinch up and define my waist usually made me feel more confident in my attire.

 

Also, most of the professional women I know who are drastically cutting their wardrobe expenses too, find that they too are sick and tired of their wardrobes.

 

Some advantages to going a year without purchases new clothes:

 

  1. Learning the difference between cheap and quality clothing.
  2. Knowing which stores and brands are offering clothes that last.
  3. Thinking creatively with a tailor to modify existing choices into altered items that feel “like new” and look great.
  4. Taking shoes to the cobbler and stretching out the life of even cheap shoes which look great for years.
  5. Learning to make quality purchases when shopping based on known clothing patterns and focusing on items that require less expensive care (i.e. dry clean free).
  6. Learning to purchase items with a more “classic” fit for longevity and “filling in the blanks” with cheaper quality items that are trendier.
  7. Taking advantage of mix and match wardrobes for a comment worthy unique style (zebra heels, a puma pull over, and cropped gaucho pants: HOT!  I get many compliments on this combo).
  8. Using clothing as a barometer for healthy living.  The better the clothes fit, with proper care, the better care taken on the body in the clothes.
  9. Thinking creatively with friends, family, and the internet for free swapping opportunities.
  10. Re-selling clothing online and through consignment.
  11. Learning the re-sale value of clothing in to target future purchases more profitably.
  12. Taking the time to research before replenishing the wardrobe in order to snag the best deals on the best wardrobe additions.
  13. Feeling completely comfortable with tossing, donating, and re-selling clothing that has been properly loved and well-worn.  This avoids the guilt pangs of clothing purchases that are tossed, donated, and re-sold before the tags have been removed.
  14. Creating a highly efficient wardrobe which respects each article of clothing, ease of access for use, and properly represents the value placed in each purchase. (I literally use my jewelry bulletin board and purse hooks to decorate the wardrobe areas in my bedroom—for which I’ve received many compliments—and which allow me to fully utilize my purse and jewelry collection).
  15. LESS CASH OUTFLOW ON CLOTHES = MORE SAVINGS!!!

 

Are there any disadvantages to shopping hiatuses?  I can’t seem to think of any…can you?

Leave a Reply

